What Mom Made 

Today Mom thought she would try to make something pretty out of one of the logs left over from when the tree was chopped down. I watched with interest!

First she picked out the log that she wanted. I had no idea what she was looking for, but she seemed to know. 

Me and Charlie kinda helped.

When she finally decided on one, I looked at it and thought she had picked the worst one there! It was all wonky and had bits sticking out. But she seemed to think it was just right. 

I was a bit puzzled.

She used a pointy thing to take all the bark off. This took quite a while. 

I soon got bored and dozed off.

While I was asleep, she scraped and scraped at it, and when I woke up, I noticed that it was a different colour underneath! It looked quite odd!

After a while, and lots of nose nudges, Mom stopped, and went inside to make her lunch. I followed her to investigate. 

After all, she was bound by houndy rules to share with me. 

Sure enough, she shared her sandwich, although I have to say, I did not get my fair share, and protested by staring at her with a very sad face. This resulted in a couple of fish cookies. 

Result!

When she had eaten, and I had had more than a few ear rubs, Mom went back to work on her log, and I got bored. I kept nudging her with my nose but it did not put her off! She was determined to finish it. 

She sanded it until it was ‘smooth enough’, as she put it, and then put on a coat of varnish.

I stared at it. 

It had gone darker, and all the pretty patterns in the wood stood out! I have to admit, it looked quite interesting.

Especially when Dad surrounded it with little white Cotswold stones.

Mom was pleased. Dad said it looked nice and was a good reminder of the tree that it used to be.

Charlie took one look, and peed up it.

Typical boy. 

I was just glad she was finished, so that we could go indoors and snuggle up on the sofa.

Bella

11 thoughts on “What Mom Made 

  1. Wow, this is so pretty. Thanks to your supervision, it’s a beautiful piece of art. You & Chuck are the best supervisors. ❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

