About Me

I thought that I would write a little bit about me for a change. Not Charlie, not places I’ve been or what I think, but just who I am.

I am Bella, formerly known as “Endless Trash”.

image

I am a greyhound aged nearly seven years old, I weigh 27 kilos and I have shiny, black fur and a liking for sausages.

I have a family, a bed, the sofa, and my own armchair, which I spend a lot of time in, roaching. I roach a lot.

image

I am fed twice a day with treats in between, I always get a lot of cuddles and I am partial to an ear rub.

I love squeeky toys, preferably furry ones, and I rarely destroy them. I have been known to remove their limbs occaisionally but they all still squeek, something I am very proud of.

I don’t particularly like tennis balls, I won’t chase or retrieve them, I am not a labrador or a spaniel.

I wasn’t always as lucky as I am now.

I was born in racing kennels, owned by a greyhound trainer. My birth mother had raced and belonged to the trainers wife. I was from her first and only litter, as she had some difficulties giving birth, and so after having us, she was found a lovely home, and now has a sofa of her own.

(It pleases me to know this, as I would hate to think of her having litter after litter of puppies, as some do.)

When I was young, my owner quickly found out that I did not really want to race, I wasn’t enthusiastic and was far too lazy.

I lived with the other hounds in the kennels, was fed and looked after, but life was very dull.

When I was two and a half years old, I finally met Mom. She came all the way to the kennels in really dreadful weather, just to meet me and take me home.

That was a really big day for me.

I had never set foot inside a house at that point! I had never seen stairs or glass doors, I had no table manners at all, and I knew nothing about “garden duty”.

The first few weeks with Mom were quite difficult for her, there were such a lot of things I had to learn. I wasn’t a very quick learner, and made mistakes, but we got through it eventually.

image

I am so glad that we did because I cannot imagine life now without Mom. She is the centre of my universe and I love her very much.

These days I am a very happy and relaxed hound.

That is me.

Bella.

11 thoughts on “About Me

  1. We love your story. It makes us sad to know that you spent those years in the kennels. But look where you are today. You’re a happy houndy and you do so much to help other houndys too. Love you. xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s nice to hear you talk about yourself bella. I didn’t know you are 7 years old. I’m 9 years old so there’s not much of an age gap between us xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

