Anicura Bath Time

A few weeks ago, I had a lovely email asking if I would care to do a review for some dog skin care products. It’s not something I would normally do, but it was very good timing, as it happens. (Also I was a little bit influenced by the fact that their CEO is a dog called Bella)

You see, I have a slightly embarrassing problem. I hate to admit this, because ‘perfection‘ is my middle name after all, but I do have a bit of an issue at the moment! My elbows, and my armpits get a bit scaly, dry and itchy.

There, it’s out in the open!

My name is Bella and I have dandruff!

So I said yes please, I thought that as Anicura is totally free of any nasty chemicals and is “Pure and Natural”, I would give it a go.

image

I have to admit I was a little nervous. As you know, I hate baths, and this would involve getting wet. But I am a brave houndy, and I have my shiny reputation to keep up so I gritted my teeth and went for it!

A few days later, my package arrived.

There was a bottle of shampoo, and a spray. I had a sniff, and was rather relieved that it didn’t smell of flowers! (There’s nothing worse than smelling of flowers)

That evening, I plucked up the courage for my upcoming ordeal. The only consolation for me, was that Charlie was going to have a bath too, although he didn’t realise this at first.

image

My bath was awful.

I can’t pretend I enjoyed it. However it could have been worse, the shampoo smelt okay and it didn’t sting my eyes. Moms only complaint was that it didn’t lather very much, so she had to use quite a lot.

Afterwards, I shook all over Dad, and had a rub down with a nice soft towel. Then it was Charlies turn.

I don’t think he was impressed.

image

Once I was rubbed dry, I was relieved to see that I was still as shiny as ever, and didn’t smell too bad either! It’s hard to describe the smell, oily? Herbs? Fruit? I’m not sure!

The next morning Mom brushed me and then put some of the spray on. To be honest, my skin was feeling better already but it was still a bit scaly.

However, a week later, and after several applications, it felt a lot better! Not all gone, but definitely an improvement. I think it’s working! My fur still shines, and it feels really soft! That’s what the lady at the Dogs Trust Shop said too!

Yesterday I had another bath!

image

It wasn’t much fun but Mom says I have to keep at it for a week or three because nothing works overnight. The lady from Anicura did say that it could take up to three weeks to be completely better.

I’m not overly excited about having another bath next week but the spray is no problem at all and I’m getting to quite like the smell!

This is what they say

At Anicura we strive to make products that contain only the finest grade pure and natural ingredients from all around the world. We make sure to not use any artificial chemicals or pharmaceutical preparations such as cortisones, peroxides, parabens and paraffin. Our ingredients are especially chosen for their bio-scientifically proven ability to help your pet have a healthy skin.

All in all, I can honestly say that Anicura iseems to be working for me! My skin is less scaly already and it isn’t itching. It doesn’t smell too flowery (which is important to a houndy) and while I don’t like baths, the spray is easy. It sinks in well and doesn’t leave my fur looking greasy. Mom is happy too because it is natural, and it is not tested on animals! She worries about using chemicals on me for some reason!

And if Mom’s happy, I’m happy!

Bella

One thought on “Anicura Bath Time

  1. This sounds like a great product. Charlie looked like he was enjoying watching you with your first bath! …until he got one too. Seems like he lost that little smile! Poor little Chuck! BOL
    xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

