Bella’s Birthday Bark

It is my birthday tomorrow, I am going to be six years old. This is a good age to be, I think, for a greyhound like me.

#adoptagreyhound

image

I know it is my birthday because I am listed on the GreyhoundData website. This is an amazing place where all greyhounds who know their parents racing names can find themselves. It goes as far back as Pilot in 1820!

My mother only had one litter, I have brothers and sisters but haven’t met them since I left the kennels. I know my mother was rehomed happily too.

image

Greyhounds, on average, can live for between ten and fifteen years if they are lucky, so I guess I am middleaged!  I didn’t race, and I am very healthy, so maybe I will be one of the fortunate ones. I certainly hope so!

Greyhounds who race, often don’t retire until they are four or five years old. I was adopted directly from my kennels at two and a half, so I count myself as very lucky to have found a lovely home with Mom when I did.

Some ex-racers are not lucky enough to find a home. Some remain in kennels all of their lives and have puppies, and I’m sure many never make it to retirement at all, which is very sad. The RGT do their very best to keep track of, and rehome all of the retired ones, but there are just so many hounds needing homes.

There are many good reasons to adopt one. Greyhounds make lovely pets, so my Mom says. Apparently I’m a couch potato, whatever that means! She’s quite lazy like me, so we are well suited.

image

I shall enjoy my birthday tomorrow, I’m pretty sure I will be spoilt rotten as usual, I might even get a cake. My birthday wish is that all greyhounds could find a forever home like me

#adoptagreyhound

7 thoughts on “Bella’s Birthday Bark

  1. You certainly are one of the lucky ones to find a loving home with a luffly mum like you haf! Your mum luffs you very much as do I 😘😘😘❤️❤️❤️

    Like

  2. Happiest of Birthdays, Bella! I hope you have a great day. My mom has puppy pictures of me and my littermates from when I was little and she has met most of them. As a matter of fact, she met my mom at the adoption kennel the same day she met me. She didn’t realize she’d met my mom until they were on the way home and she looked me up on Greyhound Data. Most of my siblings were adopted through the same adoption group as me, and I actually met one of my sisters in person at our reunion last year. and Flattery met one of her sisters there, too. It was a lot of fun, and I’m hoping we’ll get to see them again this September.
    Bunny

    Like

  3. Lovely piece & the photos are wonderful. Again my greys lived to be 15 1/2 both of them. So you are far from middle age in my book. You are perfect.

    Like

Leave a Reply

