I Didn’t Know..

There were so many things in the world that I never knew existed, things I had never seen before.

1. Glass doors.
In Mom’s house, the door to the garden was made of glass. I did not know this at first and on a number of occasions, I  bumped my nose on it. I kept forgetting it was there because it was invisible.   One day I saw the cat sitting on the fence outside and rushed at her, barking!  I ran straight into the door, bounced off and fell in a heap. I felt silly and I didn’t forget after that.

image

2 . Stairs.
I had never come across steps before!   I rapped my knuckles on the concrete step in the garden a few times and it hurt!  The stairs in the house were like a mountain! I looked up them and couldn’t work out what to do. I saw Mom go up them but I wouldn’t. It was more than 6 months before I even tried to climb them and then I got stuck at the top because I wasn’t brave enough to try coming down!! Mom had to help me! It took ages to get good at it, and now I am not allowed because of the pesky cat!

3. The Pond.
When I moved to my forever home,  there was deep snow in the garden. The pond was frozen and I had no idea it was there! I could walk on it and it was solid. Mom told me not to play there but I still did. Later, when the snow melted, and the weather was a bit better, I ran round the garden and straight into the pond. I was so shocked that I didn’t know what to do!!
So I just stood there, thigh deep in the water and howled. Mom came over and called me to come out but I couldn’t move! I was frozen with fear! She had to come in herself and lift me out, one leg at a time. She towelled me dry and warmed me up but it frightened me a lot! I didn’t run near the pond after that.

image

4. Toys
Mom gave me two stuffed toys, Grommit and Seany. I had never had anything of my own before and I loved them immediately.  I cuddled them on my bed and carried them around with me. I even took them in the garden. I didn’t hurt them or chew them up, I just loved having them.  Later on I got squeaky toys and I squeeked them non stop! Mom just looked at me and smiled. They made me happy.

2 thoughts on “I Didn’t Know..

  1. Awww Bella. You are such a sweet little thing. I loved the part where you feel in love with your stuffed toys. Made mummy cry a little. I love you so much Bella.

    Like

  2. Oh Bella, another amazing and heart warming tale of your happy life after finding Mom. We love your stories. Thanks so much for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

